mouse

I saw I mouse.  I’d heard a family rumour we had mice and I wondered and waited at what that actually meant.  Then I saw him.  My first wild animal.  Moving like a mouse on wheels.  A clockwork mouse. Faster than normal.  Faster than me.  A petrol steam mouse.  A hairy bullet.  The dimensions of our yard were uncompromising.  Suddenly the finickity rodent found himself on the concrete prairie, exposed to the freezing micro gusts of Longsight.  Mammalian evolution was crystallised in that moment.  Mammal speed.  My heart started that day.  I tracked him, as if a cat but not with my primate binocular vision.  Locking on like a torpedo but then he was gone, leaving a trail of shit behind him.

Author: camelfox

read it

Leave a Reply

